Taking my own advice

I’ve been struggling (for almost two years) to think of a clever topic or series of topics for this blog. I knew when my book was first published that I wanted to add a blog to the website. Yet the perfectionist in me kept saying, “Megan, you should have something brilliant to say before you say it. Don’t you want to impress your readers?!” For too long I obeyed Miss Perfectionist (thank you, Jenni Schaefer and Thom Rutledge, co-authors of “Life Without Ed”, for the idea to name my inner critics!). I said, “You’re right. I don’t have anything fantastic to say, so I won’t say anything at all.” Well, today it finally dawned on me that I could take a little of my own advice and take it “one day at a time”. So, not only do I have the choice to get out of B.E.D. one day at a time (and not trash-talk my body), but I also have the choice to not listen to Miss Perfectionist. Today I choose to start this blog…without a plan; without a clear idea of where this blog will take me or its readers. I choose to get out of my B.E.D. I choose to walk away from the self-loathing that I allowed to keep me down in the past. I choose to walk away from the tyranny of Miss Perfectionist. I have the freedom to choose these things. I guess “freedom of choice” is as good a topic as any for two days after America celebrated its Independence Day. What will you choose to do (or not do), think (or not think) today? 

Peace, joy, and health!

–Megan

One thought on “Taking my own advice

Leave a Reply

