One day at a time

It’s hard for me to believe that I started this blog a week ago and have kept up with it every day since then. It gives new meaning to the subtitle of my book, “…one day at a time”. I am feeling mighty proud of myself for saying “take a hike” to Miss Perfectionist and just sitting down each day and writing something. Several authors I admire (for example, Anne Lamott and Ray Bradbury) have the same advice: just force yourself to write a little something every day and don’t critique it. Just do it.

Is there something in your life that you’re struggling to get underway? Is there an inner critic that is holding you back with its negativity and doom and gloom forecasts? Maybe your first “assignment” can be to write a letter to that inner critic.

My own letter might look something like this: “Dear Miss Perfectionist, and you HAVE been dear to me at times…I’m beginning to feel smothered by you. I don’t know how it all began, but now I feel that you have taken control over my life and I want to take back the reins. Sure, you have been helpful to me in the past: when I was applying to graduate school, your attention to detail helped me craft and edit a wonderful essay; when I revised my resume, you made sure I had dotted all my i’s and crossed all my t’s. But lately you’ve felt more like a bully or a tyrant than a friend. I’ve decided today that I don’t want to be pushed around by you anymore. So, I’m giving you up. People love me—even if I’m flawed. In fact, all humans are flawed! When you force me to think in terms of “perfect”, you remove me from the human race! I’m not going to listen to you anymore. I know you don’t like this and I’ll admit that I feel a bit scared to let you go, but I have to try…ONE DAY AT A TIME.”

You CAN do it…one moment, one hour, one day at a time.

Peace, joy, and health!

–Megan

Leave a Reply

