Journeying through journaling

Most of the day today I’ve been wondering what I would write about. It’s quite challenging to come up with a new topic every day. So, I consulted one of my journals, since that seemed to give me inspiration last week (see my post called, “Freedom”). I opened up my most recent journal and found a page on which I had made a list of all the jobs I’m interested in. Considering that I had forgotten I made this list AND I’m currently hunting for jobs, it seems quite serendipitous that I turned directly to this page! And it underscores to me the amazing journeying that can happen through journaling.

As long as I can remember, I kept a diary, journal, or just a record of my thoughts and feelings, sometimes more regularly than others. Someone once told me I’m “intensely introspective”. For the most part, I think of that as a good thing; it means I’m always checking in with myself, figuring out how I feel, doing a “progress report”, and trying to be a better person every day. For me, introspection works best when I write down what I think and feel so I have a permanent record of it to review later. I’m very “achievement oriented”; being able to track my progress and look back on the steps I took during my journey is important to me.

Some of my proudest moments—especially the early days of my recovery from Binge-Eating Disorder—are written in ink, bound in beautiful notebooks, and ready for me to review at any time. Of course, sometimes I read what I wrote and think, “How silly. I can’t believe that’s down on paper. Forever.” And then I realize that whatever I put down on paper happened in real life. It was a real thought or a genuine feeling at that moment in time. Why should I be ashamed of any part of my journey through this life? After all, it’s a JOURNEY, not a CONTEST.

So, if you’ve been struggling with the idea of journaling, consider this: keeping a journal allows you to review, laugh at, or marvel at your journey through life—including your choice to get out of B.E.D.

Peace, joy, and health!

–Megan

2 thoughts on “Journeying through journaling

  1. Anna says:

    I have also been called “intensely introspective” and have also kept journals for as long as I can remember. And I, too, have looked back at many of the entries and judged them as silly, even embarrassing. But then I look at them again years later– maybe 2 years, maybe 10 years– and I am so filled with joy to know that I have those records! I’ve heard the analogy of looking back at a younger self across a bridge. You can’t go back, but journaling grants the opportunity to smile and wave at your younger self from across the bridge. I used to be so embarrassed to know that version of myself ever existed (instead of being proud of my progress). And to be honest, I still feel that way sometimes, but much less often. Now I look at that younger self and tell her how resilient she is, how loved she is (by me!), and how everything will be okay.

Leave a Reply

