Reading

Yesterday I wrote about the important role that writing has played in my life. Today, since I’m pressed for time, I thought I’d provide a list of some of the books that have been helpful in my recovery from Binge-Eating Disorder (and a few that are just “chicken soup for the soul”):

Binge No More – Joyce D. Nash, PhD

Overcoming Binge Eating – Dr. Christopher G. Fairburn

Life Without Ed: How One Woman Declared Independence from Her Eating Disorder and How You Can Too – Jenni Schaefer with Thom Rutledge

Embracing Fear: How to Turn What Scares Us into Our Greatest Gift – Thom Rutledge

Women Food and God – Geneen Roth

Eating in the Light of the Moon – Anita Johnston, PhD

Goodbye Ed, Hello Me – Jenni Schaefer

Kitchen Table Wisdom – Rachel Naomi Remen, MD

My Grandfather’s Blessings – Rachel Naomi Remen, MD

Traveling Mercies – Anne Lamott

A good place to start, if you’re stuck in the cycle of bingeing, self-loathing, and dieting is “Overcoming Binge Eating”. That was the first book I looked at when I began my journey to recovery. A great way to feed your spirit is to read either of Rachel Naomi Remen’s books, which are collections of short, autobiographical stories based on work she did as an oncologist and later as a psychologist. They are truly powerful, uplifting stories that made my own journey a little easier.

Peace, joy, and health!

–Megan

Leave a Reply

