Beach food

Okay, so I just wrote a blog entry yesterday about how far I’ve come in making peace with food. Now today, as I sit here waiting for my best friend to arrive for our girls weekend at the beach, I’m hearing all kinds of negative talk from those critical voices in my head and feeling some anticipatory anxiety. One voice says, “Mmmm….beach food! Pizza and ice cream and caramel corn! This is gonna be a great weekend!” Then another voice interrupts: “Ahem…do you really think you’re gonna be able to eat all that junk food and not gain 10 pounds? You better not eat any of it.” These two voices are duking it out in my head as I try to go about the business of last minute packing and eating a healthy breakfast.

As you can see, there are still parts of me that resort to all or nothing thinking. I’m either going to gorge on junk food (says one voice) or avoid all of it at all costs (says another). But where’s the middle ground? Where’s that rainbow of colors between black and white that I mentioned in my post “Seeing the Rainbow”?

So, here’s what I have to say to both of those voices in my head: “Be quiet!! You two are not helping me one bit. I know you think you are. One of you thinks you’re doing my spirit a favor by allowing me the joy and pleasure of eating foods that taste good to me. The other of you thinks that you’re doing my body a favor by sparing me the possibility of weight gain. Well, I’m not going to listen to either of you. [Stunned silence from the two voices.] That’s right. Here’s what I’m going to do: I’m going to listen to what my body, mind, and spirit need. On the way to the shore, I just may stop at a farm stand and buy some fresh fruit to take with me. When I’m exhausted from running along the beach and splashing in the waves, I may refuel with a slice of pizza. It doesn’t have to be all or nothing.”

What are the voices in your head telling you about the food you’ve eaten or are thinking of eating? You do have the power to talk back to those voices and put them “in their place”. All of the critical voices that develop within us were adaptive at some point, as I acknowledged above. It’s just that we somehow give them the reins and forget that each of us has a “wise mind” that can make the best decisions for us. See if you can hear what your wise mind is saying to you today.

Peace, joy, and health!

–Megan

Leave a Reply

