Silence

I’m having a rare moment of silence inside my head today. Not that there aren’t things rattling around in there. It’s just that, for now, it seems as though the usually critical voices have stopped bickering. I don’t hear the familiar, “Megan, you ate too much” or “Don’t eat that. It’ll make you fat.” or “Now you need to exercise for an hour just to burn that off.” I’m a little perplexed why those voices aren’t active today, but I’m happy they’re not. In fact, I feel pretty much at peace with myself, others, and the world. It’s a nice feeling. Of course, it’s my last day of a week-long vacation so I’m bound to feel pretty mellow by now. Tomorrow may be a different story as I jump back into the chaos of my part-time research job. But for now, I’m just enjoying the silence.

For more info about silencing your inner critic, you might want to check out the following:

“Life Without Ed: How One Woman Declared Independence From Her Eating Disorder and How You Can Too” by Jenni Schaefer with Thom Rutledge

and

“Goodbye Ed, Hello Me” by Jenni Schaefer

Peace, joy, and health.

–Megan

Leave a Reply

