Recovered

A few days ago I wrote an entry called “Can’t or Won’t” and today that very same theme has come back to me, as I contemplate the idea of recovery. Many people who have struggled with an addiction in the past will tell others that they are “in recovery” or “recovering”. In regard to my struggles with Binge-Eating Disorder I tell others I have “overcome” it. So, perhaps I would agree with Jenni Schaefer, author of “Goodbye Ed, Hello Me” (where “Ed” stands for “Eating Disorder”). Jenni says that you can be completely recovered from an eating disorder.

And yet, in terms of my ongoing distorted body image and negative self-talk, I find myself holding onto the idea that “that’s just the way it is with me. I won’t ever be fully rid of that concern.” But today I ask myself, “why not?” If it’s possible to break free from the harmful behaviors of dieting and bingeing, isn’t it possible to extricate myself from the death grip of my negative thoughts about my body?

The answer is a definitive YES. It is possible to be recovered from my eating disorder AND my negative body image. It may require more persistent work, but it is possible. It just has to be. I don’t plan to live my life happy one minute and depressed the next, just because I saw a reflection of my body in a shop window or a car door and had the thought, “You look fat.” I CAN develop a healthy body image and I CAN start today, by creating my own pledge: “I pledge to speak kindly to my body. If I have a negative thought about my body, I will counter it with a positive one. I pledge to believe in the possibility of total recovery. I pledge to tell myself ‘I can’ instead of ‘I can’t’.”

What’s blocking you from being totally recovered? Create your own pledge today. Print it out and place a copy of your pledge in your bathroom, your bedroom, your car, your office, etc. Together, we CAN be recovered.

Peace, joy, and health!

–Megan

Leave a Reply

