“Buy my book”

It’s Friday night. It’s late. It was an interesting week. I’m feeling bold. So, I’m foregoing my usual unbiased, unpushy attitude and telling you to buy my book for yourself, read it, and if you find anything valuable in it, recommend it to friends, family, colleagues, and classmates. I’m not saying this because I’m desperate for sales. My book has been selling steadily for the 3 years since its publication. However, I just re-read a critical review of my book on amazon.com (feel free to read it at the bottom of this page: http://www.amazon.com/Getting-Out-B-E-D-Overcoming-Binge-Eating/dp/0741443295/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1215012704&sr=8-1) and I wanted to finally share how this critique made me feel.

First of all, I thank the person who wrote it (someone unknown to me) for sharing her comments. I’m glad she found some element of it helpful. Second, she asks me why I chose to share my actual weight with my readers when I was writing a book for those struggling with an eating disorder. My answer is simple: because I had been enslaved to the number on the scale for a decade and a half and probably still was at the time I was writing my book. I didn’t claim to be 100% completely recovered at the time I wrote or published Getting Out of B.E.D. I just knew that I had a story to tell and I really wanted to help others realize that they, too, can make the choice each day to get out of B.E.D. What I object to most about this person’s review is that she goes on to tell everyone to forego buying my book and instead buy another book, Dr. Christopher Fairburn’s “Overcoming Binge Eating” (which I talk about in detail, since I used it in my own recovery journey, and suggest to my readers that they buy). Please, buy Dr. Fairburn’s book. It is a self-help book and you will get something out of it, I’m sure. But please…buy my book, too.

Here’s why: 1) Getting Out of B.E.D. is just about the most forthright memoir on eating disorders I have ever read. Of course I’m biased, but I’ve also read a lot of memoirs on the subject. 2) Getting Out of B.E.D. is not pushy. It does not show you the exact road that you must take in order to recover from binge-eating disorder (this is most likely to what my one and only critic–I am grateful there is one–objected). It DOES tell you how, little by little, I made the decision to get and stay out of the cycle of bingeing, self-loathing, and dieting. 3) Getting Out of B.E.D. also portrays the stories of five others (the shocker to me was that they were just from among my friends, colleagues, and acquaintances) who struggled with binge-eating and negative body image. As far as I know, it is the only book on B.E.D. that includes such interviews–interviews which represent both men and women and individuals from diverse racial backgrounds.

Writing this book changed my life. It has opened doors I never even knew existed. It has helped me tap into courage and bravery I never knew I had. And it has already helped hundreds of people. I hope and pray that you, your loved ones, and acquaintances will be among those who benefit from it.

Peace, joy, and health!

(And gratitude for letting me indulge my more outspoken side)

–Megan

Leave a Reply

