The Twelve Days of Christmas

It occurs to me this morning that it might be helpful (and fun) to write my own lyrics to the tune of “The Twelve Days of Christmas”…lyrics that will remind all of us of the choice we can make each day to get out of B.E.D. and the many tools we have available to us in our recovery toolbox. You’ll notice that I’ve replaced the words, “true love”, with “wise self”. Each of us has a wise self, a voice deep inside of us that wants nothing but the very best for us and knows exactly how to help us achieve it.

So, here it is:

On the first day of Christmas my wise self gave to me: a heart full of gratitude.

On the second day of Christmas my wise self gave to me: two peaceful nights, and a heart full of gratitude.

On the third day of Christmas my wise self gave to me: three mindful moments, two peaceful nights, and a heart full of gratitude.

On the fourth day of Christmas my wise self gave to me: four days of fun, three mindful moments, two peaceful nights, and a heart full of gratitude.

On the fifth day of Christmas my wise self gave to me: five trusted friends, four days of fun, three mindful moments, two peaceful nights, and a heart full of gratitude.

On the sixth day of Christmas my wise self gave to me: six exercises, five trusted friends, four days of fun, three mindful moments, two peaceful nights, and a heart full of gratitude.

On the seventh day of Christmas my wise self gave to me: seven journal entries, six exercises, five trusted friends, four days of fun, three mindful moments, two peaceful nights, and a heart full of gratitude.

On the eighth day of Christmas my wise self gave to me: eight affirmations, seven journal entries, six exercises, five trusted friends, four days of fun, three mindful moments, two peaceful nights, and a heart full of gratitude.

On the ninth day of Christmas my wise self gave to me: nine better choices, eight affirmations, seven journal entries, six exercises, five trusted friends, four days of fun, three mindful moments, two peaceful nights, and a heart full of gratitude.

On the tenth day of Christmas my wise self gave to me: ten small successes, nine better choices, eight affirmations, seven journal entries, six exercises, five trusted friends, four days of fun, three mindful moments, two peaceful nights, and a heart full of gratitude.

On the eleventh day of Christmas my wise self gave to me: eleven silent critics, ten small successes, nine better choices, eight affirmations, seven journal entries, six exercises, five trusted friends, four days of fun, three mindful moments, two peaceful nights, and a heart full of gratitude.

On the twelfth day of Christmas my wise self gave to me: twelve helpful tools, eleven silent critics, ten small successes, nine better choices, eight affirmations, seven journal entries, six exercises, five trusted friends, four days of fun, three mindful moments, two peaceful nights, and a heart full of gratitude.

Peace, joy,  health, and very happy holidays to you all.

–Megan

Leave a Reply

