Real Women

I realize that not all of my readers are women, but today’s post is for the ladies (but men, keep reading ’cause maybe there’s a woman in your life who could benefit from this post).

Today, I stumbled upon a terrific website called “The Real Women Project“, which is now almost a decade old. However, its aim and focus (namely, to restore healthy body image among women and girls) is just as important now as it was 10 years ago. If you click on the link to the website, you’ll see a link that says, “The Real Woman Creed”. Check it out! I found these statements to be incredibly powerful and inspiring. I would like to spend a few weeks posting about these beliefs.

The first one is, “I believe that within me lies an extraordinary radiance, and I commit to letting my light loose in the world.”

Okay. Do you have goosebumps like I do? I mean, what an amazing statement of belief! I can still recall the first time during my recovery from B.E.D. that I realized that I really was special, unique, “extraordinary”. As I continued to make the daily choice to get out of B.E.D., I began to let my light shine and was awestruck by the ways in which I could impact the world for the better. I personally believe that the radiance, or light, in me is God-given. Maybe you believe it has a different source. Whatever the source, it truly is within you! Let it loose!

I know that this can be scary…letting your light shine requires risk and risk means being vulnerable. But you may just discover that being vulnerable allows you to tap into a well of inner strength and courage that you didn’t even know existed. So, what have you got to lose? At times, the world seems dark and the news dismal. We need your light, my friends! So let it shine!

Peace, health, and radiant joy!

–Megan

Leave a Reply

