A week of affirmations – Monday

Yesterday I wrote about my decision to start each day with an affirmation, or positive thought, about myself. This morning I glanced at the list of positive thoughts I wrote several years ago and saw this:

Monday – My physical shape is not the sum total of me.

Wow. How soon I forget. It’s truly amazing how quickly after a cursory thought like, “I feel fat”, that I become self-obsessed, self-focused, and self-loathing of my body. If only I could remember each and every day that there is far more to me than just my weight and shape. There are the contributions I make to the world in terms of my feelings, my thoughts, my talents, my commitments to others, and my spiritual beliefs.

Well, as the title of my book says, “one day at a time”. There’s no time like today to believe that you are so much more than your physical appearance. Write your own affirmation today. Repeat it several times. Meditate on it. Believe it.

Peace, joy, and health.

–Megan

Leave a Reply

