A week of affirmations – Wednesday

Well, I see that WordPress.com is participating in the internet blackout today, so my faithful readers may not have a chance to look at today’s affirmation until tomorrow. I’ll post it anyway.

Wednesday – I love my whole self…body, mind, and spirit.

Now that is a great affirmation! It’s a reminder that there is more to each of us than just our physical selves – our daily intellectual and spiritual pursuits are just as important as how much we exercised (or didn’t) and what we ate (or didn’t). However, this statement doesn’t say, “I love me for more than my body.” It includes the body…it says “I love my whole self.” The body is included in that.

Let’s be honest, how many of us actually, truly love our bodies? Yet, when you think about it, bodies are amazing things! No matter the shape, size, abilities, or limitations of our bodies, they allow us to experience the world around us —  some of us through all five of the senses, others of us through fewer, but heightened senses. Last week, I was marveling at my body’s ability to heal itself. One day I woke up with excruciating back pain that left me hobbling around. The next day, after signficant rest and several physical therapy exercises, my back was significantly healed. And even when our bodies don’t heal themselves, there can be emotional and spiritual healing instead.

So, think about it for a moment. Maybe we can, just for right now, say “I love my whole self…body, mind, and spirit.” And maybe if we keep saying it, we’ll come to believe it.

Peace, joy, and health!

–Megan

Leave a Reply

