A week of affirmations – Friday

I’m only now (lunchtime) looking at my positive thought for the day:

Friday – I give myself permission to stop obsessing about my weight and shape.

I’ll admit that the wording of that one is a little strange, but I can remember why I wrote it as such. It was shortly after a counselor noticed that I was “allowing food to take up a lot of space” in my head. She asked me how much rent I was charging and when I laughed and said, “none”, she said, “You’re the landlord of your brain. You decide how much space each thought gets.”

I like that concept. It’s up to us how much we obsess about certain things and how much “space” they take up in our brains. Sure, sometimes the thoughts are automatic and intrusive, but cognitive therapy can help with that. So, when I wrote this affirmation, I was finally telling myself “it’s okay to think about something else”.

Do you need to give yourself permission to let go of something you’ve been holding on to? It’s healthy to think about exercise and nutrition a little bit each day, but there is a balance. See what you can do to find balance between your physical, spiritual, emotional, intellectual, and social pursuits so that one thought doesn’t end up taking up so much space that there’s no room for anything else.

Peace, joy, and health.

–Megan

Leave a Reply

