Day 5 – The Twelve Days of Thanksgiving

Today is the actual day of Thanksgiving here in the United States. On this day, I am thankful for so many things. But today, as I spend my day with my mom, dad, brother, and partner — who helped me immensely over the years — I want to acknowledge all those outside of my immediate family who helped me on my journey to being recovered from B.E.D.

Day 5 – I’m thankful for all of those who have found the courage to share their stories and struggles with me.

It has been such a blessing during my recovery to discover that I was not alone on this journey. From the moment I started telling people about my struggles and heard, “I binge, too”, I felt relieved. Somehow, a difficult experience shared was easier than one held onto alone. As I began organizing my thoughts for my book, I interviewed a few co-workers, acquaintances, and even my dad about their experiences stuck in B.E.D. and how they had attempted to get out of B.E.D. I was amazed to hear that their inner critics were saying similar things to them: “You’re so fat.” or “You screwed up by eating ____. You should just eat whatever you want and start over tomorrow with a clean slate.”

Now, as a college counselor, I continue to bear witness to those who tell me their struggles with disordered eating. I am inspired by their courage to face their fear and work through things at their own pace. And, it reminds me of my own slow journey.

Many of you readers have written to me publicly or privately to tell me your stories. Thank you. Disordered eating is a societal problem and as such, it needs to be tackled within a community, not alone. Keep struggling, wrestling, trying, failing, succeeding, falling, getting up…and do it with the help of others. You are doing great work and the reward of being “recovered” is most definitely worth the journey.

Love to all this day.

–Megan

Leave a Reply

