Day 10 – The Twelve Days of Thanksgiving

I’m going to use really good self-care tonight and make this a brief entry, as it’s been a long day and I haven’t eaten dinner yet (9:30pm my time — I admit this perhaps to show that I really don’t have everything together all the time…it’s humbling!).

Day 10 – Tonight I’m thankful for all those who advocate for people with disordered eating and body dissatisfaction.

Last night, at the college where I work, I gave a brief presentation to a handful of interested students. We talked about the prevalence of eating disorders, their symptoms and consequences, and ways that the students could become advocates for those who struggle with eating disorders. I shared a short list of advocacy activities: 1) contact your state government officials and request that they support legislation that requires insurance companies to cover the cost of eating disorder treatment; 2) refuse to buy fashion/beauty magazines or contact advertising agencies to encourage them to support ads that uphold health and not thinness as an ideal; 3) get involved in the “End Fat Talk” campaign; 4) get involved in National Eating Disorders Awareness Week (last week of February each year); or 5) change your own focus from body shape/weight/BMI to physical, emotional, and spiritual health. There are many other ways to get involved.

In my own recovery from B.E.D. I met many advocates and am now one myself. It’s been so rewarding to turn the pain and suffering of B.E.D. into something positive that benefits others (and continues to benefit me). So, thank you to all the advocates out there…and those who are “advocates-to-be”.

With gratitude,

Megan

Leave a Reply

