Day 11 – The Twelve Days of Thanksgiving

On my drive home tonight, as I entered my town and turned a corner, I was treated to the giant orange sun setting over the horizon in front of me. The sky was lit up pale pink and orange all behind it. Maybe it was the sight of it combined with the song I was listening to, but I started to cry. Moments like that make me feel connected to something bigger than myself, a presence that I call “God” but others call by other names: Energy, Spirit, Universe, Goddess, etc. So, it reminded me that a HUGE thing that I regained during my recovery from B.E.D. was my connection to spirituality.

Day 11 – I’m thankful for my renewed sense of spirituality.

When I was stuck in B.E.D., I lost faith in myself, in my ability to connect with others in a meaningful way, and I lost faith in God. When I started making a concerted effort towards recovery, I began to reengage in the activities that used to make me feel connected to God: quiet reflection (later I called it “prayer”), walks outdoors, star-gazing, listening to uplifting music, and singing in a choir. It was through singing that I first felt God’s presence again. Even today, music continues to be my regular “channel to God”. I’m so thankful for the gift of music and for my love of nature and all the ways I feel connected to that Lifeforce that links me to everyone and everything past, present, and future.

With gratitude,

Megan

2 thoughts on “Day 11 – The Twelve Days of Thanksgiving

  1. Leslie Neshama says:

    Megan:
    Thank you for sharing your Day 11 Gratitude. (I bet “365 Days of Gratitude In Recovering from B.E.D.” would be a good name for a Journal.).
    I remember that one of your posts a few months ago centered on your seeing a bird outside and how that much touched you.
    B.E.D. cuts me off from so many things. For one, I am cut off from my Self, from family and friends, and in a more global sense, from the world……
    But I am grateful to be able to connect in writing with you, and with others who are recovering/or perhaps, still suffering mightily (as I am………..).
    I am grateful that G-d returned my soul to me this morning.
    I am alive, and looking for beauty and peace and meaning………
    Leslie

Leave a Reply

