New Year. Now YOU. (Part 2)

Last year this time, I wrote a post called, “New Year. Now YOU.” I objected to the common phrase, “New Year. New You” — this idea of having to shed the old me and become a new person instead of embracing the beautiful mess that I am and practicing some self-love. I decided to focus on self-care and self-love instead of self-improvement or big changes. Overall, I was pretty successful. In 2012, I started painting, journaled just about every week, and wrote letters to my friends and family. I made a list of personal and professional goals and started a wonderful practice of meditating on a word or phrase each morning (a practice that went by the wayside in October but which I reinitiated yesterday). All of these things gave me a sense of inner peace in the midst of some trying times. So, I would say that my focus on “New Year, Now ME” in 2012 was very helpful.

So, in 2013, I have the opportunity to continue nurturing my creative and spiritual sides and tend to anything that needs more nurturing. One thing I recognized (with the help of a guided meditation given to me by a friend) is that I am often jumping from one thing to the next, bouncing around from activity to activity and barely noticing my emotions and sensations in the moment. (Okay, so in terms of becoming more mindfully aware of each moment in 2012, I struggled a bit!) So, with the help of this guided meditation, I came up with a word to become the theme of my year: “savor”. For me, the word conjures up images of a banquet table filled with good food — a sight which, in the past, would have made me shudder with anxiety over what to eat and how much. But, now that I’m recovered from Binge-Eating Disorder, I can use the word, “savor”, to guide me towards living more fully each day, enjoying each little moment for what it is. I will use the word, “savor”, to center myself and focus on the things that are important (the present moment I’m experiencing) instead of the things I can’t change (the past) and the things I don’t need to expend energy on (the future). (Please note that planning and preparing for the future is wise; worrying about the outcome of that plan is not!)

What will you focus on this year? Self-love? Compassion? Joy? Forgiveness? Contentment? Encouragement? Empowerment?

It’s a new year and now is the time for YOU. You are loved and worthy of love!

Peace, joy, and health.

–Megan

Leave a Reply

