The Voice of Truth

I love Wednesdays. I have the luxury of a full-time job that allows me the possibility of working four 10-hour days and having Wednesdays off. So, I love Wednesdays! Not that I don’t also love my job, but counseling is emotionally taxing. I find myself ready for a rest by mid-week. And, frankly, I think that the whole world should work no more than two days in a row before a day off!

On this particular wonderful Wednesday, I was driving to meet a former co-worker for lunch and had brought along two CDs I haven’t listened to in a while. If you’ve been reading my posts for a while, you already know that lyrics impact me greatly. Today was no exception. I sang at the top of my lungs to a song by Casting Crowns called, “The Voice of Truth”, which talks about the negative self-critical voice of fear within us that says, “You CAN’T” and the amazing power of the voice of the Divine, the voice of Truth, that says, “You CAN.” It got me thinking about all those times when I was stuck in the cycle of binge-eating and allowed the voice of fear to dictate my every thought, mood, and action. The voice of fear told me, “You can’t be happy until you’re thin.” “You can’t be beautiful until you’re thin.” “You’re can’t be loved until you’re thin.” “You can’t be successful until you’re thin.” On and on the voice droned for nearly fifteen years before I started to recognize that there was this much quieter voice inside me, the voice of Truth, which was saying, “Yes you can.” “You are loved. You are beautiful. You can be happy and successful unconditionally.”

The voice of Truth was there all along. I just didn’t hear it until I removed myself from those who were perpetuating the voice of fear and surrounded myself with those who heeded their own voice of Truth.

You, too, have a voice of Truth within you. Just sit quietly for a few minutes each morning and take some slow, deep breaths in and out and think, “There is Truth within me.” Then notice to where your mind turns and what images appear. The voice of Truth is just waiting to be acknowledged so it can help you reclaim your inner strength and step away from B.E.D. forever.

Here’s to you and to your voice of Truth!

Peace, joy, and health,

Megan

Leave a Reply

