Dear Megan

A fellow WordPress blogger writes a blog called, “Love Letters to Bee”, with letters addressed to the voice of her disordered eating. (If you’re interested, click here.) A few days ago, I thought I’d start a journal of daily letters to myself, a kind of dear diary but one in which I try to tap into that gentle voice within me and remind myself of the positives that occurred throughout the day. So far, it’s been a wonderful gift to myself at the end of each long day. Perhaps it’s a gift you’d like to give yourself.

Here’s my entry for today:

Dear Megan,

Happy Labor Day — a day to recognize, celebrate, and thank all those who work so hard in their daily labors. But, how often do you recognize and celebrate your own efforts at work? I know it’s easier for you to focus on others, but let me take a moment to tell you what I see in you. First, you’ve been blessed with the gift of compassion which allows you to connect to most people, even those whom others find it hard to connect to. Second, you’re willing to admit when you don’t know something; humility has allowed you to tell clients, “I don’t know much about that, but I’m willing to learn.” Third, your personal experiences and struggles have given you a passion for advocacy and a desire to help others build resilience through tough times. Lastly, I see your dedication, devotion, and commitment; when you begin something in earnest, you see it through. This last trait can become a burden, dear one, so don’t forget that it’s okay to admit when you’re in over your head. Asking for help, saying “no”, and taking more time for self-care are important parts of your profession. Keep in mind that even when you don’t feel appreciated, even when you aren’t recognized, you’re doing wonderful work as a counselor. Be good to yourself, kiddo.

Love, Me

One thought on “Dear Megan

Leave a Reply

