Thankful for Recovery

Recovery from Binge-Eating Disorder means a lot of things to a lot of people. To me it means the following, all of which I’m truly thankful for this day:

1. Freedom from the tyranny of the voice of Ed (Eating disorder)

2. Reconnection with loved ones from whom I was once isolated

3. New appreciation of the little things, the quiet moments of life

4. Stronger connection with God than ever before

5. Exploration and enjoyment of my creative self

6. The blessing of humility – a humility that still allows me to recognize how far I’ve come and how God and loved ones helped me get there

7. Renewed physical health – a health that does not have to look like what society says healthy looks like

8. Discernment of my true calling as a counselor

9. Introduction to countless individuals around the world who have struggled with B.E.D. or body image issues

10. Confidence that I possess the strength, courage, and skills to face all kinds of challenges

What has recovery given you? Even if you are just a few steps into your walk towards recovery, there is much to be thankful for. Take a moment to consider these things today.

Peace, joy, and health,

Megan

Leave a Reply

