“It’s Okay to Be Happy”

A few years ago, I had the privilege to attend an event at which author and eating disorder survivor, Jenni Schaefer, was speaking. She spoke about the way in which eating disorders put our lives on hold, preventing us from experiencing the myriad joys that life brings. At one point, she brought out her guitar and treated us to an acoustic version of her song, “It’s Okay to Be Happy”. Her lyrics moved me to tears that day and still do. Take a look at the video 

or read some of the words below and consider whether it just might be okay for YOU to let go of that critical voice for a moment and just experience happiness this holiday season.

“When I lose ten pounds, and then lose five more, when I’m finally size six, better yet, size four, when I grow my hair to where it should be, when I look in the mirror and like what I see, maybe then, maybe then, maybe then I’ll be happy. That’s what I believed, that’s how I lived, waiting waiting waiting for that or for this. It was never enough to just be where I was, just enjoying the ride, being all right knowing whatever life throws at me, it’s okay, it’s okay, it’s okay to be happy. Don’t know when it changed, but somehow it did. Guess I got a little tired of the emptiness. So I took some trust and I got some faith and when they found each other, I found this place where it’s okay to be happy.”

Peace, joy, and health,

Megan

Leave a Reply

