Mindful Awareness of this Wondrous World

It’s April 1st. Here in the mid-Atlantic region of the United States, it seems as though spring has (finally) arrived. And I’m SO happy she is here! Don’t get me wrong — I love winter. I love the chill and snow, the limited color palette of the world, the easy-to-spot hawks in bare treetops, and the unexpected days off from work when ice and snow make it difficult to travel. However, I find it so much easier to be mindfully present and aware of the world around me when the sun is shining, the breeze blows gently on my face, and the world wakes up with a cacophony of sound and a rainbow of color.

Monday morning I started my day by beginning to re-read one of my favorite books: Dandelion Wine by Ray Bradbury. As often as I have read it, I am amazed to discover for the first time that the main character, Douglas Spaulding, is SO mindfully aware of the world around him! Every minute is jam-packed with sensations, visions, sounds, smells, and tastes. Nothing is taken for granted. All is wondrous and new and awesome. I believe Mr. Bradbury himself was pretty good at living in the moment. (And, if he wasn’t, he must have longed for the ability to be mindful, to create a character such as Douglas Spaulding!)

How will you celebrate the arrival of spring? Will you find time to be more in tune with the world around you? Will you use your senses to engage with the world in new ways? Will you appreciate the little things more? I know I plan to.

Three cheers for mindful awareness of this wondrous world!

Peace, joy, and health,

Megan

Leave a Reply

