Asking for Help

Do you feel comfortable asking for help? It’s not something I like to do. I suffered with an eating disorder for fifteen years before I reached out for help. I guess I first had to admit to myself that I couldn’t recover alone. When I finally did ask for help, I still struggled to accept the support that was offered. It was like having a gift presented to me, but I wasn’t yet convinced that I was worthy of opening that gift. When I finally did open that gift (which took an enormous leap of faith), I found freedom: freedom in the form of restoration and transformation.

In her book, “Help, Thanks, Wow: The Three Essential Prayers”, Anne Lamott writes the following: “There’s freedom in hitting bottom, in seeing that you won’t be able to save or rescue your daughter, her spouse, his parents, or your career, relief in admitting you’ve reached the place of great unknowing. This is where restoration can begin, because when you’re still in the state of trying to fix the unfixable, everything bad is engaged: the chatter of your mind, the tension of your physiology, all the trunks and wheel-ons you carry from the past. It’s exhausting, crazy-making. Help. Help us walk through this. Help us come through. It is the first great prayer.”

In 2005, I opened the gift of support that was offered to me and said, “Help.”

Today, as my loved ones and I face new challenges, I pray, “Help.” It’s as simple as that. And, as Anne Lamott continues, “I pray for people who are hurting, that they be filled with air and light. Air and light heal; they somehow get into those dark, musty places, like spiritual antibiotics.”

May each of us be filled with air and light in the days ahead. May we recognize the need to ask for help. May we be able to find and accept the help that is offered.

Peace, joy, and health,

Megan

Leave a Reply

