“It’s okay to not be okay”

The title of my post today is a lyric from the fabulous song, “Exhale” by contemporary Christian artist Plumb. If you don’t know it, find it and give it a listen. The first few lines really set the tone: “It’s okay to not be okay. This is a safe place. Don’t be afraid. Don’t be ashamed. There’s still hope here. No matter what you’ve done or who you are, everyone is welcome in His arms.” This song is SO comforting! Regardless of your spiritual beliefs, there is something reassuring about the hope that comes from “letting go” (the next lyric of the song), breathing in, and exhaling all of your unmet expectations.

Yesterday I realized I’m still waiting for happiness. When I was stuck in the cycle of bingeing and restricting, I told myself, “I’ll be happy when I lose ___ pounds.” Then I realized I could be happy with myself no matter what my weight. When I was struggling through graduate school, I told myself, “I’ll be happy when I have my master’s degree.” Then I realized I could find moments of joy during the journey. Now, as my job is less satisfying than it was initially and my relationship is not where I want it to be, I tell myself, “I’ll be happy when…” I’m discovering that I’m still struggling with the lessons I thought I already learned: “Happiness is an inside job” and “Find joy in the moment”.

Normally, a discovery like this one — in which I find myself relearning lessons I thought I already knew — would knock me off course. And, truth be told, it did for a few days. Then I heard Plumb sing, “it’s okay to not be okay” and that phrase has embedded itself in my mind.

“It’s okay to not be okay.”

“It’s okay to not be okay.”

“It’s okay to not be okay.”

Maybe this is the most important lesson of all.

Peace, joy, and health,

Megan

2 thoughts on ““It’s okay to not be okay”

  1. Steven Steel says:

    This is a really inspiring piece, to be honest! To be able to relate to the Plumb’s lyrics and reflect them on your daily life, that’s an exceptional skill most people out there don’t have. They just go around, listening to music without even pondering or contemplating on what the lyrics meant.

    Yes, you’re right about ‘it’s okay not to be okay’. Perfectionism is good, but it shouldn’t be incorporated into our lives to the extent that we force ourselves to do the things that we genuinely don’t like doing. Our lives is ours, and we deserve the chance to choose the path we want to take. So don’t let the Perfectionism Beast (check out my site to know what that means haha) take control, and start living your life the way you want to.

    I’m actually a recurring perfectionist myself, so yeah, I can relate to what you said in this post here 🙂

    And I saw that you’re an author, and you got your book published! WOOTS! How awesome is that! 🙂

    I’m not sure if I’m in the position to say all the stuff that I’d just said just now, but I just HAD to say it. So yeah, I hope that after reading this, you’ll cheer up and dance a jig to the fact that, in the wide, wide space called the internet, there’s a guy, who’s facing the same exact problems as you have, and although he doesn’t have even 10 percent of the followers you have here, he still perseveres, and drops by websites like this to rant on the comment section of people like you. So don’t worry! We’re on the same boat! 😀

    Cheers! 🙂

    PS: I actually wrote a post on Perfectionism too, check it out if you’re in the mood! 😀

    http://imeanlike.com/2015/06/25/three-guys-and-a-beast-perfectionism-explained/

Leave a Reply

